Lenten Challenge – Day 6

I have stacks of books about writing, and stacks of journals filled with rambling words.  I really take the instruction from writing practice seriously – especially embracing the permission to write the worst junk in America.  (aw who am I kidding, I’m ambitious enough to be the worst IN THE WORLD!)

1. Keep your hand moving. Pick a time and once you begin, don’t stop.
2. Lose control. Say what you want to say.
3. Be specific. Not car, but Cadillac. Not fruit, but apple.
4. Don’t think. Writing practice will help you contact first thoughts.
5. Don’t worry about punctuation, spelling, grammar.
6. You are free to write the worst junk in America.
7. Go for the jugular. If something scares you, go for it.

On the other hand, I am always, ALWAYS struggling with thatadvice to go for the jugular.  I am polite, even in my journals and end up using vague descriptions so as to not upset someone someday who might read something and find offense.  (Logical brain says “who cares” – Lizard brain *cowers in fear*).  My writing lacks a certain honesty and I get overly wordy, trying to convey what’s what without detail.  During this Lenten Challenge, I’m trying to push myself on this intention.  Not only to grow as a writer, but to deepen the practice of letting the words flow and let spirit in.  At least in my journal.  For ten minutes at a time.

Writing Prompt: I am afraid of….

don't fear the lizard

One thought on “Lenten Challenge – Day 6

  1. Pingback: Lenten Challenge – Day 12 « RipeLifeBlog

Leave a Reply

