Lenten Challenge – Day 40

The last Lenten entry for 2011 and I have no great epiphanies to share.  This has been a good discipline through a season marked by sadness and glimpses of joy.  I have tended the intention to let words out and let spirit in through daily writing (and sharing).  But I have not maximized my outreach, or spawned a movement of spirited writers.  Though, I’ve learned a few things.  And I’ll do it again.

This year, Easter will be quiet.  There are no plans for egg hunts or even brunch, and I have no work related duties.  Which really is a good thing.   For most of the past 17 or so years (wow, that’s a long time) I had to deal with a lot of anxiety and preparation when it came to “one of the biggest Sundays of the year.”  And sadly, for the moments of great joy and beauty – there were some pretty horrible things, too.   People have an amazing capacity for generous beauty, and for cruelty, too.  That is my experience, but more that that – it is the Holy Week path.  No wonder I’m so ambivalent this week to the spiritual significance of the season! I tend to be a grudge holder, and time can fortify my resistance.

I’m aware the forgiveness is a wise and steady healing process, and that ultimately redemption is a sacred task.  My Saturday meditation is I suppose, on the creative tension of boundaries and boundless love.  It is the Exodus and the resurrection.  Moving forward when all seems lost.  Staying awake through the dark nights of the soul to praise the rising sun.

Writing prompt:  There is compassion in….

Leave a Reply

