November 18

After I spent a week driving cross country about 14 years ago, I found myself 36 hours later longing for a ride, so I hopped into the red civic hatchback,

license plate # 408 PNF and drove north on the California coast for about 4 hours and turned around and came back.  Time alone in the car has a soothing effect on me…sometimes.  I know it’s not good to be so car-centric.  So I hold back from the meandering Sunday drives now.  And I’m not really a fan of traffic, highways at night or speed demons.   A year of commuting (even part-time) thorough Silicon Valley cured me of that.  So once again, waiting at the BART station, noticing interesting patterns while the car is parked and seeing the steering wheel as landscape on another planet, distance unknown.

Leave a Reply

