November 29

As the end of the month approaches, I think this may be among my favorite photos.  This bottle of rootbeer sits on the window sill in my kitchen.  I found it when we moved in a box of things left to me by my beloved Oona who died 18 months ago and it cracks me up because of the number of times we MUST have proclaimed some unworthy man a rat bastard then cackled hysterically. Rat Bastard really conjures up a certain type of cad that only a gal pal can truly diss and commiserate over…Good girlfriends are a treasure in life and I have been (and AM!) blessed by some amazing Goddesses.  Oonie and I went to many a matinee watching romantic comedies (rarely something serious and dramatic) drinking root beer and eating bad popcorn and mocking the happy endings, while discussing bad theology and getting SHHHHHed by other movie patrons.  I miss her so much.  And love that of all the strange stray things I have to remember her by, Rat Bastard Rootbeer is the thing I see daily.   

Leave a Reply

