Day 27

When I was growing up, California was as distant as the moon, or at least France.  A mythical place of hippies and tv shows and scary earthquakes.  Even when I first moved here my thought was “temporary” until February of that first year when there were Birds of Paradise outside my window and a deep stirring in my soul knew this land was now “home.”

Over the last 15 years there have been a few earthquakes, a few hippies and I even sat in the audience for one (local) tv show.  The blooms outside the window now include a bottle brush tree teeming with humming birds, and a variegated camellia.  Plants that are like me:  not native but they seem to fit in ok.

 

Writing Prompt:  When I was a child I thought my life…

Leave a Reply

